National Board of Review Names Mad Max: Fury Road Best Film

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail 1

Mad Max: Fury Road just got one step closer to the Best Picture nomination it deserves. The National Board of Review has named George Miller’s masterpiece as the Best Film of 2015. Flickreel recently discussed whether Mad Max: Fury Road should win Best Picture. With this boost from the NBR, it’s entirely possible that the film will make the Academy’s lineup.

Check out the National Board of Review’s full list of winners below:

Best Film:  Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Director:  Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Actor:  Matt Damon for The Martian

Best Actress: Brie Larson for Room

Best Supporting Actor:  Sylvester Stallone for Creed

Best Supporting Actress:  Jennifer Jason Leigh for The Hateful Eight

Best Original Screenplay:  Quentin Tarantino for The Hateful Eight

Best Adapted Screenplay:  Drew Goddard for The Martian

Best Animated Feature:  Inside Out

Breakthrough Performance:  Abraham Attah for Beasts of No Nation and Jacob Tremblay for Room

Best Directorial Debut:  Jonas Carpignano for Mediterranea

Best Foreign Language Film:  Son of Saul

Best Documentary:  Amy

William K. Everson Film History Award:  Cecilia De Mille Presley

Best Ensemble:  The Big Short

Spotlight Award: Sicario for Outstanding Collaborative Vision

NBR Freedom of Expression Award:  Beasts of No Nation and Mustang

Top Films

  • Bridge of Spies
  • Creed
  • The Hateful Eight
  • Inside Out
  • The Martian
  • Room
  • Sicario
  • Spotlight
  • Straight Outta Compton

Top 10 Foreign Language Films

  • Goodnight Mommy
  • Mediterranea
  • Phoenix
  • The Second Mother
  • The Tribe

Top 5 Documentaries

  • Best of Enemies
  • The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
  • The Diplomat
  • Listen to Me Marlon
  • The Look of Silence

Top 10 Independent Films

  • ‘71
  • 45 Years
  • Cop Car
  • Ex Machina
  • Grandma
  • It Follows
  • James White
  • Mississippi Grind
  • Welcome to Me
  • While We’re Young

NBR President Annie Schulhof stated, “2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema. We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail 1
This entry was posted in News on by .

About Nick Spake

Nick Spake has been working as an entertainment writer for the past ten years, but he's been a lover of film ever since seeing the opening sequence of The Lion King. Movies are more than just escapism to Nick, they're a crucial part of our society that shape who we are. He now serves as the Features Editor at Flickreel and author of its regular column, 'Nick Flicks'.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.